Programm of IRRC Waste-to-Energy


September 18 and 19, 2017

Vienna Marriott Hotel
Parkring 12a, 1010 Vienna


EU policies  •  Country Reports  •  Strategy


Technology of Waste Incineration • Energy Efficiency and Use
Flue Gas Treatment • Treatment and Utilization of Waste Incineration Residues


Mechanical-Biological Treatment • Utilization of Solid Recovered Fuels
Pyrolysis and Gasification

Scientific Chair

Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. h. c. Karl J. Thomé-Kozmiensky

Professor Dr. Franz Winter
Vienna University of Technology
Institute of Process Engineering, Environmental Technology and Technical Biosciences, Austria

Professor Ing. Dagmar Juchelková, Ph. D.
Technical University of Ostrava (VŠB-TUO), Energy Engineering Department, Czech Republic

Programme Coordination

Dr.-Ing. Stephanie Thiel


Steering Committee

Associate Professor Dr.-Ing. Lale Andreas
Luleå University of Technology, Department of Civil, Environmental and Natural Resources Engineering, Waste Science & Technology, Sweden

Professor Dr.-Ing. Michael Beckmann
Technical University Dresden, Director of the Institute of Process Engineering and Environmental Technology, Germany

Professor Dr.-Ing. Otto Carlowitz
Technical University Clausthal, Head of the Institute of Environmental Sciences, Germany

Patrick Clerens
Secretary General, European Suppliers of Waste to Energy Technology (ESWET), Belgium

Professor Dr. Ertugrul Erdin
Dokuz Eylül Universitesi Mühendislik Fakülltesi, Cevre Mühendisligi Bölümü, Buca-Izmir, Turkey

Dipl. Natw. Trimurti Irzan
Küsnacht, Switzerland

Professor Dr.-Ing. Martin Kranert
University of Stuttgart, Chair of Waste Management and Emissions, Germany

Professor Dr. Rundong Li
Shenyang Aerospace University, Dean of the Faculty of Energy and Environment, China

em. O. Professor Dr.-Ing. Karl E. Lorber
University of Leoben, Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management, Austria

Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Maaß
FDBR e.V. – Association of Process Plant Engineering
– Energy, Environment, Process Industry, Executive Member of the Management Board, Germany

Dipl.-Ing. Johannes J. E. Martin
Associate of Martin GmbH für Umwelt- und Energietechnik, Germany

Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich Martin
Managing Director of Martin GmbH für Umwelt- und Energietechnik, Germany

Dipl.-Phys. Karl-Heinz Müller
Chief Operating Officer of EEW Energy from Waste GmbH, Germany

Adj. Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Abdallah Nassour
University of Rostock, Department of Waste Management in Arab countries, Germany

Professor Dr. Rodrigo Navia
University of La Frontera, Department of Chemical Engineering, Chile

Professor Ph. D. Eur. Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Tadeusz Pajak
University of Science and Technology AGH Kraków, Department of Power Systems and Environment, Poland

Assistant Professor Ing. Martin Pavlas, Ph. D.
Brno University of Technology, Institute of Process and Environmental Engineering, Czech Republic

Dipl.-Chem.-Ing. Luciano Pelloni
Au, Switzerland

Univ.-Professor Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Roland Pomberger
University of Leoben, Chair of Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management, Austria

Professor Constantinos S. Psomopoulos, Ph.D
Piraeus University of Applied Sciences, Director of the Electric Power Division and High Voltage Lab, Greece

Professor Dr.-Ing. Peter Quicker
RWTH Aachen, Unit of Technology of Fuels, Germany

Professor Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. Harald Raupenstrauch
University of Leoben, Chair of Thermal Processing Technology, Austria

Professor Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. Helmut Rechberger
Vienna University of Technology, Institute of Water Quality, Resources and Waste Management, Austria

Dr.-Ing. Gert Riemenschneider
Managing Director of Steinmüller Babcock Environment GmbH, Germany

Professor Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Rommel
Managing Director of bifa Umweltinstitut GmbH, Augsburg, Germany

Professor Dr.-Ing. Vera Susanne Rotter
Technical University Berlin, Chair of Solid Waste Management, Germany

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Renato Sarc
University of Leoben, Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management, Austria

Dr.-Ing. Frank Schumacher
Managing Director of Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems Europe GmbH, Germany

Professor Ing. PhD. Ľubomír Šooš
Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Director of the Institute of Manufacturing Systems, Environmental Technology
and Quality Management, Slovakia (enquired)

Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. h.c. Petr Stehlík
Brno University of Technology, Director of the Institute of Process Engineering, Czech Republic

Dr. Ella Stengler
Managing Director of CEWEP – Confederation of European Waste-to-Energy Plants e.V., Belgium

Professor Dr.-Ing. Oktay Tabasaran
Istanbul, Turkey and Stuttgart, Germany

Professor Nickolas J. Themelis
Director of the Earth Engineering Center, Columbia University
Chairman of WTERT Waste-to-Energy Research and Technology Council, New York, United States

Dr. Costas A. Velis
Lecturer in Resource Efficiency Systems, University of Leeds
Institute for Public Health and Environmental Engineering, United Kingdom

Dipl.-Ing. Klaus-Günther Zink
Deputy Chief Executive of the Environment Sector, CNIM S.A., La Seyne-sur-Mer CEDEX, France